How to Use This Tool

If you have never used a system cleanup tool, it is very likely that there are redundant files on your computer. These junk files add useless ballast to hard disks and take up valuable disk space. Examples of redundant and useless files include different temporary files created by applications or the operating system, log files with reports on actions of system utilities, and other data. These files must be eliminated and can be cleaned away with the help of the Reg Organizer’s system cleanup tool.

To open the Reg Organizer’s System Cleanup tool, select the System Cleanup command in the TOOLS submenu of the Main Menu.

To start looking for the useless files and other problems, press the SCAN SYSTEM button. If you switched to this tool from the Express Check function, you don’t even need to click that button to begin, as the scanning will start automatically.

During the system scan you’ll see various locations, such as Main Temporary Folder, which are being checked by the system cleanup tool. Each of them corresponds to the system location where usually the information garbage, invalid files or registry entries are located.

The meaning of a disk cleanup location is easy to understand from its name. The features of some locations are explained below:

  • Invalid Shortcuts
    Within the scanning of this system location, the program searches for shortcuts which are pointing to the deleted files or folders and fixes or removes such invalid shortcuts. By default, the invalid shortcuts are deleted, but you may specify that the program should attempt to repair them. To do this, in the Main Menu select the SETTINGS item, then in the window that appears in the left-hand panel select System Cleanup => Invalid Shortcuts. Now in the right part of the window you’ll see the corresponding option.
  • Custom Files
    Within this system cleanup location’s scanning, the unneeded files which you’ve specified in the settings are removed. You may give the program instructions to clean some folders or specific files (by mask) in them. Learn more about configuring the custom files.
  • Windows Updates Unused Files
    This location is disabled by default because its scanning usually takes a long time. See below, should you want to know how to enable it.
    During the scan of this system cleanup location, the Windows updates copies which were already installed but are still stored in the system are cleaned. Please note that the main work within this location’s cleanup is performed during the next system reboot. At this time you may see a window similar to one which is shown when the Windows updates are being installed.

Not all system cleanup locations are enabled by default. To edit the list of the locations to be scanned, click the Change button located near the caption, which may look something like Locations enabled: 16 of 22. You may enable all cleanup parts at once by switching to the Maximum Cleanup Mode.

When the scanning finishes, to clean the information garbage, incorrect registry entries and fix invalid shortcuts press the CLEAN UP button.

Back to Top ↑