Viewing Traces Left by an Application in the System
To see what traces an installed application has left in the system, first select it in the list. The list’s line will expand to display the data about the selected application. Click the View all traces link to display the application’s traces viewing window with all traces added to the system by the selected application. If you do not see this link immediately, wait for a few seconds for it to appear in place of the Analyzing… label.
The same application’s traces window can be opened during its uninstall.
If you are performing the application uninstall, some of the traces associated with it in the system can be excluded from the removal procedure. For instance, in the application’s traces viewing window you can select any registry key or a file and press the Delete key. After you confirm the deletion, the selected element will be excluded from the removal procedure and will remain in the system when you uninstall the application.
Note that the element is not removed from the system, you simply remove this trace from the list of traces associated with the application. For example, if you deleted a registry key from the trace list, this registry key will not be removed from your system during uninstalling. Usually, you should delete elements from the application’s traces viewing window if you want to leave them in the system after you remove the application (though this need arises rarely).
Not only can you delete elements from the application’s traces, you can also modify registry values displayed there. To do so, select a registry key and double-click the value you want to edit in the right-hand part of the application’s traces viewing window.